California food

‘You’re not still going on about California, are you?’

Well, yes, I am. And that’s because I have neglected to tell you about one of the most delectable parts of my holiday, the food. The gargantuan serving sizes of burgers, pizzas, sandwiches and pancakes acted as a strong magnet in bringing me to the USA for the third time. And so for the lip-smacking benefit of all, here’s a post on the cream of the crop of the meals I ate whilst over in America.

The first morning we were there we ventured out in search of a true American breakfast. So we settled at Denny’s, self-styled ‘America’s Diner‘, where we chowed down on pancakes, grits, french toast, eggs, bacon and countless refills of coffee. Here’s what I had that morning:

I believe the operative word for this is a ‘French Toast Slam’

And here’s a picture of all of our breakfasts. This might not seem like much to our American cousins, but this could probably feed my family for a week.

Breakfast at Denny’s

The waiters and waitresses were very helpful and courteous, stopping several times to refill our coffee from jugs that looked like they were right out of a movie. I therefore nearly started a rant straight out of Reservoir Dogs about not believing in tipping but they were all so nice in there that there was no need, and we ended up visiting Denny’s three times in total.

Another restaurant that we saw all over the place in California was In’n’Out. Priding itself on its simplicity, there are just four uncomplicated burgers on the menu. However, there exists within the restaurant a Secret Menu, which isn’t too secret among Californians who love eating there! Items on the Secret Menu actually outnumber those on the regular menu, and you can style your burger into practically any way you want. They even show up on the receipt! On the recommendation of a friend, I chose the most popular item, an Animal style burger, which has a secret sauce, a mustard-cooked beef patty and lettuce and tomato. The fries were done the same way. It was absolutely delicious.

This one was located on Sunset Boulevard.
Animal Style Cheeseburger
Animal Style fries

I showed these pictures to my friend who lived in California for a number of years. He groaned in longing and berated me for whetting his appetite once more. In’n’Out really is one of the nicest places you’ll eat in California – just remember to have your burger done Animal Style.

Now, I’ve forgotten to mention this so far, but about a year ago I was diagnosed with eosinophilic oesophagitis – in other words, an allergy to cow’s milk and soya. Since this was diagnosed rather late, and since I wasn’t bothered about symptoms since they were so benign, I gleefully ‘forgot’ about this allergy throughout the course of the two weeks I was there, as you might have already gauged from above. Perhaps the most direct violation of this allergy requirement was in my consumption of one of the greatest of all American foods, Macaroni Cheese. After my second visit to the USA in 2010, I had developed a kind of romantic fascination with the delectable meal. No matter where I went or how I tried, though, nothing back home in the UK could really recreate that salivating flavour. So, as I ventured into Souplantation, a superb all-you-can-eat salad bar, I filled my cup several times and enjoyed the tangy, brilliant taste.

Mac ‘n’ Cheese

After I had gotten over that steaming pile of cheesy deliciousness, I went up to San Francisco where I just had to try the delicacy of Clam Chowder. A soupy mixture eaten in states all over America, it actually turned out to be rather nice, although I abstained from one of the large bread bowls that people were carrying around.

Clam Chowder

Another delicious thing that was sold at San Franciscan shops was Sourdough. The type of bread is made from naturally occurring yeast and lactobacillus. The latter gives a distinctive mildly sour taste. It was the main type of bread baked during the San Francisco gold rush in the mid-19th-century.

Employees at a Sourdough restaurant busy at work.

I had much more to eat, but a subject of interest was the size of the drinks over there. In many restaurants that I went to, people seemed to trust you to only fill up your drink once by giving you a cup and directing you to the soda fountains. Well, I assume that’s what they think, because they still have small, medium, large and XL cups for you to choose from. I chose a large cup one time and witnessed the loss of 50 cents as somebody went to fill it up for me again. The cup pictured below is a small, but back here I would definitely envision it as at least a medium. It’s like they WANT YOU TO DIE!

Approach with caution…

To round off all posts about my holiday (until further notice) here are a selection of iconic images that I took, including one of a dog that looks like a mop. Enjoy and thanks for stopping by.

Universal Studios Hollywood
Auxin Powers: International Plant Hormone of Mystery
This is the location of Mary-Jane and Spiderman’s kiss in the 2001 film; it is found on the Warner Brothers lot.
Here’s a spectacular waterfall in Yosemite National Park.
Oh yeah, we saw a bear, didn’t I tell you?
I wonder if this dog listens to Bob Marley…
The location of Frank Bullitt’s house in ‘Bullitt’, on Clay Street in San Francisco.
The San Francisco cable car – a great experience to ride on the outside.
The Golden Gate Bridge, when I could actually see it.
The otherworldly rock faces of Monument Valley.
The Grand Canyon
Leave a Reply

